Looking Ahead- Books to Read This Month

I have far, far too many books on my shelves to read, and I need to clear out some shelf space for a new dump after winter break. Need. Space. For. More. Books. My life in a nutshell.

So, a couple books I’m looking forward to reading this month to help clear off my shelves. Just a few I’m itching to read as I finish up The House on Mango Street (side note- my first time really annotating inside the book itself, and I find myself with paragraphs in the margin. It’s really exciting!).

For class: The Samurai’s Garden by Gail Tsukiyama

My teacher’s way of describing this book today when I asked if I could read ahead- “Sure. It pulls you in peacefully” (or something like that). I’m curious where it will go, considering I have at this point read and analyzed only the first two paragraphs. Slightly pathetic? Yes, but that’s what we did in class today, and with things happening this afternoon, I will use tonight to catch up (well, I suppose to my standards, though as ever-increasing as they are, the task would be impossible. I’ve been thinking quite philosophically in class; can you tell?).

Next up for personal exploration: 1984 by George Orwell

How did I get this far without reading this? I don’t know. I just know that it’s up next because I absolutely need to read this (not for class- for me, of course. You can sense my strange urgency about these things.).

After that: Talking With My Mouth Full by Gail Simmons

Her autobiography; no doubt a much lighter read. I just love Gail Simmons. She is so eloquent while really knowing what she’s talking about and using words to her advantage. Definitely excited for this one.

Once those two are done: Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut

Again, how I could have traveled this far into my reading career without reading this one is pretty astonishing. Especially considering one of my favorite recommenders sent me a copy, which made me grin so big, and she had lent me a copy before that (along with Aldous Huxley’s Brave New World— which I need to get to but not right now).

These are a couple ideas I’m toying around with for reading this month. Maybe more, maybe less. We’ll see based on work and breaks and baking cookies and all of those necessary things. (To be in the grand scheme of things again, what is necessary in our lives and why is it so? Why do we deem it so, in fact?) And I will post reviews when I finish all of these wonderful books!

On that note, happy December reading!

Nicole

One thought on “Looking Ahead- Books to Read This Month

  1. I’d like to see your annotated copy of “Mango” when you’re done. I read it long ago and re-reading it with glimpses of seeing it through your eyes would be interesting. Plus, I just need to read more fiction!

Leave a Reply

