Blast from the Past: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

Hi guys, 

I am crazy-busy with homework and soccer and trying to get ready for all sorts of things happening this weekend, so please be patient about waiting for the Fifth Avenue, 5 AM post. I really appreciate it. You guys rock. 

Anyways, here’s a Wacky Wednesday Blast from the Past:

I wrote this book review about a year ago just for me, and I thought I would post it just to keep things fresh. Plus, it’s kinda funny to read what I was thinking back then about this book that, in truth, wasn’t all that amazing. But I sure was positive!

Here ya go:

Nic’s Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

                  I absolutely love it when books are addicting. It makes me feel giddy, like I’m two or three years old again. I love it. There is nothing better to me than an addicting book. And I would probably say The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer is one.

                  I got sucked in by it, so much that I bought it on Amazon, which is a feat in itself; because it was surrounded by lots of other books I could’ve bought instead. I knew I made the right choice when I picked it up and got sucked in like a vacuum. I just thought: I was right; this is good!

                  The characters in themselves are complex and diabolical. Mara is delusional, tricking readers’ minds but humble in admittance. Her feelings resonate true, and her plot line is quite interesting to follow. Jamie is funny and helpful, and although you don’t know much about him, you’re glad he’s at Mara’s side. Noah is an amazing writer’s feat- calm and compassionate, satirical and flirty, and ultimately consuming. The way he interacts with Daniel, and Mara especially, makes you go tingly all over.

                  Set in modern Florida, the book’s setting doesn’t play a huge role until the Everglades and Joseph come into play. There’s just enough detail so you can picture things, but not too much that it’s overwhelming. There are fantastic descriptions of surroundings and sounds, because they play a role. The funky elitism of Croyden and the strange secrets of the places make me happy I read it.

                  The mystery is undeniable. The overwhelming secret is strange and a plot line. I didn’t love love when the book turned totally paranormal towards the end, because I think there are too many sappy fantasy novels out there. But that was just the end, and a minor detail, so don’t think too much when picking up this book. If you’re looking for Twilight all over again, don’t read it. But if you’re drawn to suspense and well-written characters, please devour this book.

                  I give the book four and a half stars because it is pretty close to amazing. The storyline at the end is confusing and the paranormal part is on overload at the close, which might be cleared up if I reread it, but I have other books on my list right now. My final verdict is this: if you have an empty weekend and a love for books, find The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer at your library. You won’t regret it.

It is very funny to me that this doesn’t hardly sound like any of my reviews now. Or maybe it does to you. I don’t know. I feel that my writer’s voice in class has grown a lot over the past couple of weeks, and maybe I’m just not translating that here as well. Who knows.

I may add more of these slightly out-of-date reviews every so often, and I hope that they give you just another book to add to the reading list, or a moment to laugh at weird jokes I made on your coffee break. 

Have a great day!

Nicole

2 thoughts on “Blast from the Past: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

  1. Fun way to keep your blog rolling balanced with busy schedule. So what do you think you would rate the book today? By your comments I’m guessing *not* 4.5 stars. Or was it too long ago?

    • Definitely not four and a half stars. And while it was a long time ago, I think I’d have to give it three or maybe three and a half from how I remember it. Thanks for commenting!
      Nicole

Leave a Reply

