Bookstore Love

Image

 

I love bookstores. Especially independently-owned ones, especially tucked into corners of big cities. Such is the case in San Francisco, where I took a recent trip. I assume you might possibly deduce this from the picture above, my panorama of the Golden Gate Bridge. 

My parents used to live in SF, and since my dad loves books almost as much as I do, he had a couple cool places to show me. I suppose it wasn’t very smart on my part not to leave a lot of room in my suitcase for such adventures. I’ll find some way to fit my goods 🙂

On the first day we went to Green Apple Books. You can visit their website here. It’s a really cozy place with lots of nooks and crannies in which you can find all sorts of great books. I found an awesome one on how the brain works reading, as well as a copy of My Life in France by Julia Child. They also have great stationary and wrapping paper, but since wrapping paper doesn’t pack well cross-country, I refrained from purchasing the whole bin. I did, however, get one set with the pastry macarons on them. 

Image

 

Here’s the macarons stationary now added to my repertoire. 

Image

 

I also happen to love Rifle Paper Company and their cards, as shown above. 

That was a very fun stop. The next day we stopped at City Lights bookstore. Their website is here, but like Green Apple, nothing compares to the actual store. The history of this place is that it was founded by Lawrence Ferlinghetti (and Peter D. Martin) in 1953. It’s a bit more hippie-ish than Green Apple, considering it was founded by a poet in the fifties. It’s also really fun to browse around in. 

From there I picked up two books of short stories- one of Sylvia Plath. I didn’t know that she wrote short stories and considering I love The Bell Jar so much, I had to get that. The other is by a Russian writer with a very long name that I can’t remember. It was published at the end of the Soviet rule. It was kind of dark and slightly ominous love stories. I was curious and didn’t think I could get it anywhere else. 

Well, that’s all for now. If you’re ever in San Francisco, I would advise book lovers to visit these places. Have fun!

-Nicole

Leave a Reply

