31 Books for August

Okay, so it’s August first. And I typically hate August. It is the muggiest, steamiest, most horrible month of the whole year. In my oh-so-humble opinion, that is. This year, however, I am trying to make August bearable by setting some challenges for myself. 

First is the Instagram photo challenge, with 31 days of August and 31 things I’m going to miss when I leave for boarding school. Now I thought of this- 31 books for August. 

You see, I may not actually read all 31 of these. I am being pretty awful at reading in mass quantities this summer like I did last summer when I read 65 books. I don’t exactly know where my count is this summer, but it’s definitely under 20. It may even be under 10. I will just leave it that I’m trying to go quality over quantity this summer 😉

But here are 31 books for August. Some of these are books I’ve literally read every third month or so since I first read them (This Lullaby) and some are ones that I’m looking forward to reading in the next month or so before school starts (which I am extremely nervous and excited for at the same time). 

Here are the AB&AB recommended 31 books, in no order as usual:

1. A Field Guide for Heartbreakers by Kristen Tracy (Funniest. Book. Ever.)

2. The Nanny Diaries by Emma McLaughlin and Nicola Kraus (Ah-mazing and read so many times!)

3. Nanny Returns by Emma McLaughlin and Nicola Kraus (The sequel is a great beach read! Just finished it!)

4. Angela’s Ashes by Frank McCourt (Great, great memoir.)

5. ‘Tis by Frank McCourt (Another sequel I’m waiting to read.)

6. Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens

7. Franny and Zooey by J.D. Salinger (The movie about him is set to come out early September- I think on the exact day I leave for school. I think his writing is witty and fun to read. You can see a movie trailer here.)

8. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger (I read this last August! Love this book!)

9. Life of Pi by Yann Martel (Recommended by my mom.)

10. The Green Glass Sea by Ellen Klages (Totally heartbreaking.)

11. The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards (The most beautifully crafted fiction book I’ve ever read thus far.)

12. The Lake of Dreams by Kim Edwards (A new one of hers to read, and seems like a bit more of a mystery than The Memory Keeper’s Daughter.)

13. The Luxe by Anna Godbersen (Read this ages ago and need to reread.)

14. I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore (Awesome for a thriller book.)

15. The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore (Sequel time!)

16. The Lying Game by Sara Shepard (I need to reread this whole series and finally get to the last book!)

17. The Amanda Project by Amanda Valentino and Melissa Kantor (So so so good. I bet I could finish all four books in two days, though I read them as they were released, which is not quite as fun 🙂 Plus they have a great website.)

18. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling (As in all of them. The whole series. I’m serious, no pun intended.)

19. Divergent by Veronica Roth (Destined to be as big as The Hunger Games, especially with Shailene Woodley movie version coming out soon-ish.)

20. Insurgent by Veronica Roth (Sequel to the first and second in the trio; third is said to be out in October?)

21. This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen (um, seriously the best realistic fiction book ever. No kidding, and I’ve read a lot.)

22.  Julie and Julia by Julie Powell (Another hilarious one, and a cooking one which only helps its reputation in my book.)

23. Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen (Also quite good, but not as much as This Lullaby.)

24. Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer (I read Into the Wild last summer, and want to see how his memoir differs.)

25. The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen (Different from the other two Dessens on here, and in a good way. Can also be substituted with Dessen’s Along for the Ride.)

26. Kitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain (Should be rude and nasty but funny none the less.)

27. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs (A bit scary but with lovable characters.)

28. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson (Extremely good but serious and you need to be in the right mindset)

29. Give and Take by Adam Grant (I need, NEED, to find a library copy of it, or just take the plunge and buy it off Amazon. It should be absolutely incredible and approach-changing and will totally review once it’s done)

30. The Best Teen Writing of 2009 by assorted authors (I have only read snippets of this in the past and expect that there should be a newest version. I considered applying for a similar Scholastic contest and may next year. This book is wonderful, with lots of stories and poems worthy of the medals they won. I just about die laughing during “A ‘How-To’ Guide for Today’s Teenage Girl.” You should find it just for that 🙂 )

31.  The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald (Must-read. Basically. That’s it.)

I hope August is an enjoyable month for everyone. I think I may plan to visit the Southern Hemisphere in August next year if possible to avoid awful NY weather. But now I can stay inside with A/C and a good book!

Have fun reading!

-Nicole

2 thoughts on “31 Books for August

Leave a Reply

