Another Top 10- Favorite Things at the Start of Summer

Happy Saturday! I’m here posting my top 10 favorite things from this week and this moment. I know I did this once already, and I’m trying not to be redundant in posting, but I like having an outlet to express things that I love.

Here they are:

1. My brand-new (got it yesterday!) MacBook Pro

I am doing my first post from it right now! I cannot say how head-over-heels in love I am with this thing! I had wanted for years to get a MacBook Air, but after a discussion with an Apple Genius yesterday in the Apple store and a slightly spur-of-the-moment decision on my dad’s part, I got the Pro. I could not be happier, really. I’m paying for half, and for the money, it’s a much better value. Lots of storage, super fast, well-organized like most Macs. Plus, it’s the first new computer that I can call my own and is now the newest piece of technology in our household. Sweet! Such an upgrade from the almost ten-year-old Mac desktop I have. Yay! I’m so excited. 

2. Summer goals

Summer always seems like a total get-things-done sort of time, but it also has time within to relax and have fun on a more casual basis. Being the person I am, making lists all the time, I have a yellow notepad with probably five pages worth of goals for this summer. And I am ready to get them underway! My Geometry classes (to be able to go straight to Algebra II/Trig next year instead of taking Geometry) start Monday. Monday or today might mark the first of the Mile a Day challenge. I’m not sure if I have the initiative yet to start it today… We’ll see :). I have plenty of pre-boarding school packing, new websites and programs to try, getting acquainted with my new computer, and photography adventures planned. Summer 2013 should be great! Oh yeah, and a reading list that spans another seven pages too… 🙂

3. Beaches at sunsetImage

Since I’m most likely missing our family beach week for Geometry, I have been craving more pictures of beaches to mentally take me there and have me miss Rehoboth at least a little bit less. This picture above was taken at our grade-wide beach party to celebrate the end of the school year. I just adore the colors!

4. Amazon wish lists

This is one of my favorite ways to keep track of books I want to read in the future (besides the Notes function on my phone, paper lists, and my Books on Deck shelf- to be a post of its own soon). I love my Amazon wish list because I can see very clearly books that I want to read or ones that peaked my interest in one way or another. Of course, my family has inside jokes about my sister’s wish list, with 1300 items of all categories, or something absurd like that (mine rests around 130, with about 120 books, for some perspective). My favorite strategy is to use the function on the right-hand side once you’ve added an item and change the priority of it accordingly. That way you can use the sorting features on the top to change categories from All to Books, and then the Sort by from Date Added to Priority (high to low). It’s a super-simple trick to see books that you’ve heard about and want to read, in a good order for reading them. 

5. Photography (and maybe a good new camera?)

I love taking pictures to capture everyday life, lifestyle photography, but I love the hobby of it as a whole. Lately I’ve been one of those people who just use their phone camera for everything (my iPhone, in this case). My dad has a very professional camera that he uses sometimes (being an artist for a living), and I have a little portable Leica that I use sometimes. But now I really really want to start exploring and having a camera to truly call my own, even when I have to pay for it myself. The one I have my eye on is the Nikon D3100. Beware, AB&AB: lots of summer pictures will be coming your way!

6. Breakfast at Tiffany’s

Again, another thing I am adoring right now. Audrey Hepburn is fantastic. I saw this picture book on her in an Anthropologie store, and added it to my Amazon wish list almost immediately. She is so gorgeous and unique and funny in her own little ways. I now join the ranks among millions of other Audrey fans. Can’t wait to see other things of hers, though I don’t know if anything can beat the cat named Cat and Paul “Fred” Varjack. Amazing movie. 

7. Organizing

You know that rewarding feeling when everything magically falls into place, neat as can be? I’ve been trying, without the use of magic, to make it that way, as I know an organized summer will be a much more peaceful summer. Yesterday was cleaning out all of my school binders, and I have to sort the papers in chronological order but it still felt really good. Our recycling bin was way to the brims after that! I plan on tackling my desk, all the random paper piles I have, and maybe my chiffonier by this weekend. So exciting! I love organizing just for how rewarding it feels.

8. Charles Dickens

I have waited for months to enact my plan that summer 2013 be a Dickens summer. And I can’t wait! Sure, I have my second reread of The Perks of Being a Wallflower to finish first, and a library run to grab a copy of Oliver Twist, but I am more than prepared for these classics to come my way! 

9. Babysitting

I plan on babysitting today! For the first time in a very, very long time and possibly ever. Which seems kind of crazy, since I was Red Cross certified at age 11, but not many people want an 11-year-old babysitting their kids. Oh well. But it will be the first of my summer jobs, and most any summer money is good summer money!

10. Adapting recipes

A couple nights ago I was thinking of adapting a cookie recipe to encompass some of my new favorite flavors- dates, toasted pecans, and toffee. I had originally tasted this combination in this cookbook, which is for filled pancakes called ebelskivers. I made the recipe for Sticky Toffee Ebelskivers and had some mishaps, but the flavor combination stuck with me (as did the toffee sauce recipe, which I now just cook for seven or eight minutes longer then refrigerate, and I get perfect toffee). I’m thinking of combining those key flavors with my base recipe for chocolate chip cookies, omitting the chocolate chips. And I have another sponge cake and raspberry syrup dessert to make for tomorrow. Adapting and combining things is so fun for me, and even when it doesn’t work out, you learn some great lessons along the way!

I hope summer is off to a great start. And, if you’re in the Southern Hemisphere, that winter is going just as well. I’m off to enjoy the nice weather today. Will write later!

-Nicole

One thought on “Another Top 10- Favorite Things at the Start of Summer

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Favorite Things Right Now | A Book and A Button

Leave a Reply

