My Dream Jobs

I never really knew how to respond as a little kid to the question, “What do you want to be when you grow up?” I mean, I probably could’ve given some smart-aleck answer about wanting to be an adult when I grew up, or be happy or a nice person. But instead, I gave some prototypical response on the top of my list of dream jobs. I’ve had plenty of things happen to me since I was five years old, and now the question mainly is, “Where do you want to go to college?” Frankly, I don’t know for sure where I want to go to college; I want to go to a good school that I’m accepted to. People especially like this question when you are considered smart and get straight A’s, as though they want to measure up their dreams to yours.

However, that is not the matter of the minute. I want to address that question from when I was younger, and that you as the reader probably received too- “What do you want to be when you grow up?” Here are my top job picks, as they stand right now.

-A quantum physicist. My friend and I promised each other that at least one of us would be quantum physicist. I don’t know if they offer it at MIT, where I think she wants to go for college, but it has the coolest title ever. Seriously. “Quantum” means how much. Physics is science. We both ace science. And there’s a lot of math in physics, I think, which I’m pretty good at. Quantum physics is a perfect match. Let’s be quantum physicists!

-A magazine editor-in-chief, preferably for Bon Appetit. I love Bon Appetit, and Adam Rapoport should take this as a compliment. I adore BA, and with my editing and writing skills, it would be a pretty good fit. Killer baker-writer combo. And leader to boot! I’m already working as editor of the school newspaper. I would love to gracefully take the place of Adam Rapoport some day.

-A flavorist. Okay, I just finished Fast Food Nation by Eric Schlosser, and I have it on the brain. It was a really cool book, but if you particularly enjoy fast food, especially McDonald’s, I don’t recommend reading it. And a lot of the parts about the meat industry made me want to go vegetarian and never eat school cafeteria food again. It’s pretty gruesome and disgusting at points, just the mentality of it even, so be prepared if you will read it… Anyways, continuing back with my dream jobs… There was this really cool section in Fast Food Nation, one of my favorites, where Schlosser describes the jobs of flavorists, who create the flavors labeled “natural” and “artificial” on many food packages. It was an amazing thing, really, to imagine people putting together chemicals to form scents that are so realistic. It’s a chemistry job, dealing with tiny and precise amounts, but as I love food and science, as shown by my above two choices, it could be truly amazing.

-A small business owner. It would be so incredible to get my own bakery one day. For now, I operate my miniscule Nicole’s Sweets out of my family’s kitchen, but the prospects of having one day a fully functional professional kitchen are indescribable. To have my own space for playing around with sugar and sweets, flour, eggs and baking soda. Turning it into things that people buy and that make people smile. It sounds so so so so wonderful. I’ve been forewarned about the powers, good and bad, about being your own boss, and the strenuous hours involved with running a business. But that doesn’t discourage me from one day maybe opening a cafe/bakery/bookstore and making it all that it can be.

-An author. Okay, so I love writing. I want to run a magazine. You kinda had to expect this one to be coming.

-A teacher of sorts, most likely in history or writing. I am a very story-oriented person, as you can tell by the fact that I started this blog, and that I write mainly about books on it. There is something immensely powerful in the way that words weave together, the way that events and happenings intertwine. How one thing leads to another, both on paper and in real life. I love being able to help other people, especially if it involves knowledge,  and giving my skills to them in a slightly distorted way. Translating what I know into what they can understand. It might sound confusing here, but the act of explaining something to someone else gives me joy. Friends have said lately that I should be a professor, and it is surely fathomable. I think I would make a pretty good professor, but who knows? I may just have to go find out 🙂

-A pastry chef. I don’t really know if I would want to pursue food as a full-time thing. I love it yes, the act of transforming simple things, and it makes me quite happy. But there is so much more out there, so much that utilizes the more keenly academic parts of my brain. I think I’m more of the home cook sort, making things for pleasure on the side, especially desserts. It peeves me when people bring very simple things for dessert to our house, because I always think, “Hey! I could’ve made that, and I could’ve made it better!”

I’m not looking for fame or fortune in my life, and the jobs above certainly show that. The most famous is probably the BA editor, because Adam Rapoport has like 22 thousand followers on Twitter. But I don’t care about that. I want to find a job that keeps me happy with a roof over my head and a stomach content with good food. Somewhere along the line I may choose to change what I do. I’m leaving options open.

-Nicole

Leave a Reply

