My Print Addictions

My sister, for reasons unbeknownst to me, likes watching the TLC shows My Strange Addiction and My Crazy Obsession. I personally think that the shows are too weird and pointless to warrant an audience. However, these shows are slightly beneficial to Earth. Mainly, they served as inspiration for this post, titled “My Print Addictions.”

You see, like many avid print-lovers and reading-obsessed people in the world, I have a group of standby print sources. These are my favorites. These are everlasting. These are awesome, in each sense of the word. They’re novels and magazines, a newspaper and some cookbooks. They’re eclectic just like me. Lovely and perfectly unique, filled with quaint charm. They are the things I will go back to, time and time again, when I need something with words to fill space.

And so you have it; My Print Addictions:

1. Bon Appetit Magazine (I am obsessed)

2. The Catcher in the Rye (Holden Caulfield is just obnoxious enough for me to smile)

3. The New York Times on my iPhone (handy when stuck bored somewhere; I love Mark Bittman’s food section articles)

4. The Joy of Cooking (it seriously has almost everything out there)

5. Eat, Pray, Love (A little bit too well-written to be chick lit)

6. Roget’s A-Z Thesaurus (My tenth birthday present, and the best besides dinner at Le Bernardin)

7. Sticky, Chewy, Messy, Gooey (Sweets of all shapes and sizes for the baker in me)

8. Julie & Julia (One of the funniest things I’ve found published)

9. Cook’s Illustrated/ Cook’s Country Magazine (The oxymoronic simple and complex)

10. The Great Gatsby (I adore this book, no joke)

11. Angela’s Ashes (Amazing, amazing, amazing memoir)

12. A Year of Writing Dangerously (A fun find filled with 365 days of writing advice)

13. This Lullaby (The best chick lit/realistic fiction book in terms of writing)

14. The Bell Jar (Incredibly awe-inspiring)

15. The Memory Keeper’s Daughter (I can’t describe how close to perfect this book is)

-Nicole
Leave a Reply

